These moist, healthy breakfast muffins are made with wholesome ingredients like oatmeal and Greek yogurt, are filled with warm harvest spices, and are exactly the thing to do with the surplus of apples that’s blessing the grocery store (and my refrigerator) at this very moment. When I’m making a fall-oriented recipe like Apple Carrot Muffins, I spend a lot of time thinking about aromas and spices: cinnamon, maple (or honey), and of course apple are all present here. These Apple Carrot Muffins also reminded me of another critical component to any comforting recipe, texture. Call to mind the softness of a flannel shirt, the pleasant bumps on a nubby, wooly blanket, the crunch of leaves beneath your boots. Touch comes into play with our eating experiences too.

This Apple Carrot Muffins recipe skimps on neither. First, they are incredibly moist, which, in my opinion, is a baseline requirement for any muffin worth eating, healthy muffins like these included. They also offer surprise textural elements that make them all the more appealing (and addicting!). Second, these are apple carrot oatmeal muffins, and the oats give them heartiness. As you eat one, you have a real sense of being sustained. It’s a pleasing, reassuring sensation, especially on a chilly morning when you have a long day ahead. Finally, in addition to the oatmeal, you’ll find other bonus elements in each bite. I added golden raisins, whose chewy sweetness is one of my favorite pairings with both carrots and apples. For crunch, I couldn’t resist chopped walnuts. Pecans would also be outstanding, as would, I suspect, sunflower seeds.

Apple Carrot Muffins—An Easy Muffin Recipe That Doesn’t Disappoint

It was important to me that these be EASY Apple Carrot Muffins. As you’ll see, this recipe comes together quickly and is appropriate for bakers of all levels, including little bakers you may have helping in the kitchen with you. Like the majority of my healthy muffin recipes, these are great Apple Carrot Muffins for toddlers, as they contain no sugar and sneak in a serving of fruits and veggies. This Apple Bread is another wonderful recipe! As our all-adult household and my friends can attest, grownups will certainly approve of a muffin or three for themselves too!

I’ll be pulling from my apple orchard supply over the next few weeks, but even after it runs out, these Apple Carrot Muffins are a recipe I’m looking forward to making year-round. The ingredients are simple and readily available, the prep is easy, and they are tender, flavorful, and satisfying. What more could I ask for in my muffin?

Other Healthy Muffin Recipes

Zucchini Carrot Muffins Banana Oatmeal Muffins Applesauce Muffins  Healthy Zucchini Muffins with Chocolate Chips

Muffin scoop (Creates the best domed muffin tops and ensures they are all the same size and bake evenly. This is a great tool for cookies too!) Muffin pans: I like this one with the easy-carry lid; this brand is also fantastic.

Apple Carrot Muffins with Oatmeal   Healthy  Easy Recipe - 26Apple Carrot Muffins with Oatmeal   Healthy  Easy Recipe - 52Apple Carrot Muffins with Oatmeal   Healthy  Easy Recipe - 52Apple Carrot Muffins with Oatmeal   Healthy  Easy Recipe - 58Apple Carrot Muffins with Oatmeal   Healthy  Easy Recipe - 96Apple Carrot Muffins with Oatmeal   Healthy  Easy Recipe - 36