FavoritePinShare

Hey everyone! It’s Chelsea back from Chelsea’s Messy Apron to share a fun dessert recipe with you today! These cupcakes are rich with a chocolate fudge flavor. The frosting is a lightly-whipped strawberry mousse. The airy frosting balances out the dense chocolate cake creating an awesome cupcake combination that is a favorite in my family and a hit at any event I bring these to.

When I make cupcakes, I generally doctor up and change a pre-made cake mix. This makes the cupcakes super easy and quick to make, but they taste great! One of my favorite additions to a cake mix is adding a dry pudding mix. I used a chocolate fudge pudding mix in these cupcakes and it lends an incredibly rich chocolate fudge taste. I also start with a cake mix that already has pudding in the mix. So it’s basically double the chocolate, and double the fudge. And I don’t know about you, but I can never have too much chocolate 🙂 The other additions include the following line-up: 3 eggs, sour cream, vanilla Greek yogurt, some vegetable oil and a touch of vanilla extract for good measure. If you want, you can switch up the quantities of the yogurt and sour cream. You can use all sour cream in this recipe or all yogurt. I like a mix of the two, but these cupcakes will turn out great if you decide to use just one or the other.

To balance out the rich and over-the-top chocolate cupcakes, I wanted a light frosting. With Valentine’s Day just ending and plenty of leftover strawberries, I thought a strawberry frosting would be great. This frosting isn’t your ordinary frosting by any means. The frosting is more of a very light strawberry mousse. The ingredients are easy – pureed strawberries, strawberry pudding, and Cool Whip. Not your traditional line-up for frosting, but the perfect complement to these chocolate cupcakes. I love piling frosting on my cupcakes a mile high, but if you aren’t a huge frosting fan, feel free to halve the amounts for the frosting and put less on the cupcakes. Seriously, these cupcakes will melt in your mouth. Making it just that much easier to shove another twenty couple down!

All nutritional information is based on third party calculations and is only an estimate. Each recipe and nutritional value will vary depending on the brands you use, measuring methods and portion sizes per household. Read More Posts by Alyssa facebook twitter pinterest instagram WARNING: However the first time I used the recipe I didn’t notice that the buttermilk wasn’t added to the instructions for mixing the wet ingrediants and burned out the motor on my mixer whe adding the wet to the dry! Thank you! Even if they won’t be as pretty as I want, they taste AMAZING! Comment * Name * Email * Website

Δ

Insanely Delicious Prime Rib Recipe

Quick 45 Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Slow Cooker Chicken and Mushroom Stroganoff

Chocolate Cupcakes with a Strawberry Mousse Frosting - 1Chocolate Cupcakes with a Strawberry Mousse Frosting - 32Chocolate Cupcakes with a Strawberry Mousse Frosting - 23Chocolate Cupcakes with a Strawberry Mousse Frosting - 58Chocolate Cupcakes with a Strawberry Mousse Frosting - 58Chocolate Cupcakes with a Strawberry Mousse Frosting - 80Chocolate Cupcakes with a Strawberry Mousse Frosting - 7