I realize that cooking barley risotto at your own wedding presents a few logistical concerns. My dress would undoubtedly get in the way, serving everyone at the same time would be tricky, and the pot would be so large, I’d pass out before I finished stirring. Despite the challenges, I can’t help but fall for the idea of making risotto for everyone I cherish most, because to me—perhaps more than any other dish—risotto says, “I love you” and “We are good enough friends that I can cook in front you while consuming conspicuous amounts of wine.” One splash for the risotto. Three sips for me. Four sips for you. Forever and ever amen. Undeniably comforting, yet refreshingly simple, I consider risotto the meal equivalent of giving someone a giant hug. It’s a cheesy analogy, but I sincerely believe it’s true. Risotto is one of my favorite dishes to make on chilly evenings, and—despite singing the praises of make-ahead party meals like this Sweet Potato Goat Cheese Quiche earlier this week—I break the rules for risotto, which is best made and served immediately. Some of my favorite dinner memories are being gathered in my tiny Madison kitchen with a few close friends, all of us stationed near the risotto pot (making Beet Risotto) and polishing off a bottle of wine before the risotto even hit the table. As often as I make risotto, rarely do I use classic Arborio rice…or any kind of white rice at all. At the risk of scandalizing my Italian in-laws, I prefer to use whole grains (as in this Farro Risotto) like today’s barley risotto recipe. Not only are whole grains richer in fiber, protein, and nutrients, they also make a killer creamy and complexly flavored risotto.

How to Make Barley Risotto

The inspiration for this barley risotto with mushrooms and spinach came from a beautiful creamy barley bowl I had at a local restaurant in Madison. It was filled with complex layers of flavor from fennel, white wine, onions, and one of my more recent loves, mushrooms. I haven’t been able to stop thinking about the barley bowl since, so I decided to recreate it via today’s barley risotto with mushrooms and spinach.

The Ingredients

Barley. A healthy, whole-grain twist to traditional Arborio rice that’s packed with fiber, folate, and iron.

Mushrooms. You can use any mushroom you enjoy, with the exception of white button mushrooms, which don’t have enough flavor to carry the dish. The restaurant used oyster mushrooms, which were incredible, and I opted for more affordable cutie creminis and portabellas.

Spinach. The final component of the barley risotto is a bed of garlicky sautéed spinach. You can certainly stir the different components together, but I love the look of the different layers, as well as the sensation of plowing my fork deep into the middle of my bowl to ensure that I grab a little taste of each.Fennel. Adds a layer of complex flavor PLUS an extra serving of healthy veggies.Garlic + Onion. For a little zip and BIG garlic flavor.White Wine. For flavor and a splash of fancy.

The Directions

I might have missed serving barley risotto with mushrooms and spinach at our reception, but I’m pretty sure my wedding dress is still stowed safely in my grandmother’s attic.

Hulled barley retains the outer bran layer, while pearl barley has the bran layer mostly removed.Although hulled barley is higher in fiber, it takes much, much longer to cook and can be more difficult to find. Pearl barley still offers a good amount of fiber and nutrients, is easily available, and doesn’t add any extra time to the risotto’s cook time. Victory!

Does anyone have an apron large enough to cover a ball gown?

What To Serve With

Salmon Cakes Recipe – The BEST Salmon Patty recipe! This easy recipe uses canned salmon with bright lemon juice and spices, so they taste flavorful and fresh.Fried Chicken Breast – This air fryer fried chicken breast recipe without flour is ultra crispy thanks to whole wheat breadcrumbs, grated Parmesan, and little oil.Roasted Carrots – Delicious honey roasted carrots! These sweet and savory flavors make this a go-to recipe for carrots and a tasty, healthy side. Creamy Barley Risotto with Mushrooms and Spinach   WellPlated com - 65Creamy Barley Risotto with Mushrooms and Spinach   WellPlated com - 33Creamy Barley Risotto with Mushrooms and Spinach   WellPlated com - 14Creamy Barley Risotto with Mushrooms and Spinach   WellPlated com - 84Creamy Barley Risotto with Mushrooms and Spinach   WellPlated com - 63Creamy Barley Risotto with Mushrooms and Spinach   WellPlated com - 88Creamy Barley Risotto with Mushrooms and Spinach   WellPlated com - 86